FLASHBACK: Obama is “just too talented to do what ordinary people do.”

Obama saint

As we witness the invasion and takeover of Crimea by Russia’s Putin, and amid the destruction being wreaked by Obamacare, one particular quote keeps coming back to me like an annoying song refrain that I can’t seem to shake.

It’s from the 2010 book The Bridge written by New Yorker editor David Remnick, and was uttered by Barack Obama’s most loyal and trusted counsel, Valerie Jarrett:

 “I think Barack knew that he had God-given talents that were extraordinary. He knows exactly how smart he is. . . . He knows how perceptive he is. He knows what a good reader of people he is.

And he knows that he has the ability — the extraordinary, uncanny ability — to take a thousand different perspectives, digest them and make sense out of them, and I think that he has never really been challenged intellectually. . . .

So what I sensed in him was not just a restless spirit but somebody with such extraordinary talents that had to be really taxed in order for him to be happy. . . . He’s been bored to death his whole life. He’s just too talented to do what ordinary people do.”

As vapid as those words sounded then, they qualify as positively imbecilic today.

— “…a good reader of people…“? You mean, like he was able to “read” Putin and have him figured out so thoroughly that we just had our rear-end handed to us, again, by Russia?

— “…bored to death his whole life…“? Hmmm, perhaps if he spent more time doing his primary job and less time either campaigning, vacationing, or playing golf, he’d be a tad less “bored”. Come to think of it, it’s pretty tough to marry the “bored” description to the fact that he’s almost completely ignorant of everything in his own Administration.

That’s not being “bored”: I’d label that blindingly incompetent.

Obama golf

Taken in its entirety, Jarrett’s quote is little more than an over-the-top ego stroke, the sort given to a child who doubts himself and needs to be constantly reassured of his abilities, à la Stuart Smalley.

And most importantly of all, for a man Barack’s age to have floated through life allegedly without ever having “been challenged intellectually” is not the hallmark of an advanced intellect. Quite the contrary, it’s a sign of someone who is, at his core, alarmingly lazy and insecure.

People who truly want to learn, people who want to challenge their own knowledge, surround themselves with folks vastly smarter than themselves in every arena. That is the exact opposite of this man, and he admitted as much back in 2006:

“I think I’m a better speechwriter than my speechwriters,” Obama told him. “I know more about policies on any particular issue than my policy directors. And I’ll tell you right now that I’m gonna think I’m a better political director than my political director.”

THIS is not someone confident of their own intellect: this is someone reliant on self-puffery and the approbation of others to insulate himself from the actual, terrible truth.

The current occupant of the Oval Office is a man who does have considerable talents: as a campaigner, a rabble-rouser and demagogue. Too bad those abilities only allowed him to secure his current office, yet left him wholly unqualified to perform its actual duties.

obama - Hope Is Fading 444

11 responses to “FLASHBACK: Obama is “just too talented to do what ordinary people do.”

  1. livinrightinpgh

    Never been challenged intellectually, or intellectually challenged?

    YOU make the call!

    • That one’s too easy…

      • livinrightinpgh

        Yeah….just had to get it out of my system.

        The Jarrett quote reminds me of the Obama sycophant (think he was a professor) who said that Obama was so bright that he had the highest IQ of ANY President….EVER. When asked what Obama’s IQ was, the answer was “I don’t know, but it’s definitely up there”. This is the kind of mindless rambling you get when a group of people try to build someone up who DOESN’T have the merit or the gravitas. Just keep saying enough times and you’ll have the low-info types repeating it and making it part of their belief system.

        But, in order to be “bored” with work, wouldn’t have to have actually WORKED at some point? I mean a REAL job, too.

        This mess in the Ukraine is an ugly example of Obama’s naiveté, which is in stark contrast to the reported “ability to read people”. Putin is taking the “Boy-President” to school, on the world stage, and it’s embarrassing.

      • livinrightinpgh

        Oh, and BTW: President Genius, at ANOTHER dinner honoring “stars” last night (how can he be bored when he’s partying every 3rd day?), reminded everyone that Aretha Franklin taught us all how to “R – S – P – E – E – C – T”……..Classic.

        • Yeah, I saw it. You now have that, his infamous “57 states” gaffe, the “Jedi Mind-meld”, mispronounce “Corpsman” as “Corpse-man”, him thinking Austrian is its own language, etc.,..

          Can’t we offer to trade him with some other nation, for a conditional draft pick or something?

  2. Wow. Impossible to believe the man has made it as far as he has. Great post.

  3. If only I could have a dollar for every time I was told byhis supporters: “He’s so smart” or “He went to Harvard.” The only pay I get is the look on their faces when I reply: “So did Bush” The blank stare I get back is almost as good as a dollar….almost.

    I still want to see his college transcripts.

  4. Pingback: ‘BHO’ – ‘I’m Too Sexy For My Love, Too Sexy For My Love’ | The Camp Of The Saints

  5. I like that: “self-puffery’. I think you’ve used it before.

    And you’re right. She’s inflating his ego as I’m sure she’s always done.

Leave a Reply

