I Need Thee EVERY Hour

It’s true…there is not an hour when I don’t need God…even the hour that was STOLEN from me while I slept last night.

That’s right, go ahead and laugh, especially if you live in Arizona or Hawaii. We Hoosiers used to have enough self-confidence  and rugged individualism to go against the flow and refuse to  change. We watched the slow and lovely shifts from winter to summer and back again, as the shadows gradually lengthen and shorten, and it was a beautiful cycle to behold.  But now, we’ve joined the lemming crowds who change their clocks back when it’s still WINTER for crying out loud, and do you realize that at this point we’re only on “regular” (aka REAL) time for FOUR MONTHS OUT OF THE YEAR???

I’m not the only person bugged by this.  Here, watch this explanation of the ludicrous complication which is Daylight “Saving” Time:

It really doesn’t make a lick of sense, does it? No one benefits, as far as I can tell.

I’m certainly glad that God doesn’t have to keep track of what time zone He’s in as He listens to prayers from all over the world.  Since He stands outside of time, it’s all literally the same to Him:

“A thousand years in Your sight are like a day that has just gone by, or like a watch in the night.”  (Psalm 90:4  NIV)

He is outside of ALL time…not just Eastern Standard versus Pacific Daylight, but Ancient versus Medieval versus Post-Modern times.  

When I get disgruntled over the pointless exercise of fiddling with clock faces, I need to stop and remind myself that I haven’t really lost anything of value. The same God who knows the number of hairs on my head, and whether they’re gray or blonde, is the God who knows all the days ordained for me–even the 23-hour variety.

 If I’m “redeeming the time,” to me that means that I’m being a good steward with the time that’s been given to me.  It may mean an hour less of sleep tonight, or an hour less of watching TV or YouTube videos, or a bit less time reading a book. It should not mean less time playing with my granddaughter or praying or feeding my family. So why should I complain, really?  

“Teach us to number our days, that we may gain a heart of wisdom.” (Psalm 90:12 NIV) 

The whole of Psalm 90 is a consideration of the timeless, age-straddling majesty of the Almighty, and the ephemeral insignificance of human life.

“Before the mountains were brought forth,
    or ever You had formed the earth and the world,
    from everlasting to everlasting You are God.” (Psalm 90:2 ESV)

Father God, teach us that we are mortal, while You are immortal…teach us that to hold You in reverent awe is the beginning of wisdom…remind us that we are finite and humble and need You every hour…no matter what time it is.

“We are a moment,

You are forever…”

This beautiful worship song says it well:

3 responses to “I Need Thee EVERY Hour

  1. Great post, Sis, and a great reminder.

    And no, DST doesn’t make a lick of sense. Wow, that system is screwy….!

  2. Wonderful post, I love the part about “physics does not work that way”, so funny. Hope you are enjoying all your hours.

Leave a Reply

