Know the Left’s tricks: read “Tyranny of Clichés” (and if you already read it, read it AGAIN)

Recently, I’ve been going through some of my favorite books from the past few years, Mark Levin’s Ameritopia and Mark Steyn’s America Alone among them. I recently went so far as to flog Steyn’s book specifically.

The third book that I’m revisiting is Jonah Goldberg’s Tyranny Of Clichés. If you read Goldberg’s previous tome, Liberal Fascism, this is very, very different. It much more closely resembles the tone of his Twitter feed (read as: sarcastic & very funny), while still being wonderfully written. It’s also incisive, and it applies so well to what we all read and see every day, we should probably keep it close-by when we’re surfing the web.

One of the many maddening observations he covers is the broad swath of leftist Liberals who fancy themselves “Independents”. Goldberg points out that the difference between them and the folks on the Right is that Conservatives openly and proudly admit their ideology, and are constantly debating and discussing it. These self-deluded Leftists pretend they have no ideology, and that their view is the mythical “center”.

Having been raised in Massachusetts, this one hits close to home for me. The Bay State has a highly pronounced Leftist leaning, yet you may be surprised by its voter registration record. In 2008, over HALF of registered voters there were “Independent”, which in reality simply meant deciding which Democrat to vote for.

Oh sure, they’ll vote for a Romney or a Scott Brown every once in a while, but that’s no more impressive than CNN covering a single Tea Party rally with some basic level of impartiality, then turning around and impugning the Tea Party 50+ times over the next five days. It’s insincere, self-congratulatory, and indulgent.

Of course, being a crazed right-wing extremist, what the heck do I know?

The Tyranny Of Clichés is a very worthy & entertaining read, and even a re-read. If you get bored easily, have no fear: this book isn’t even marginally boring. Considering what we’re all going to be wading through in the coming weeks, media-wise, I’d go so far as to say it’s essential.

To give you an additional hint of its contents, I’ve even included a video interview below.

Happy Reading, gang.

—–

3 responses to “Know the Left’s tricks: read “Tyranny of Clichés” (and if you already read it, read it AGAIN)

  1. I hope it’s not too tacky to plug my own blog. But when I first started blogging I ran into this issue. I had several friends (and read a few articles) that always talked about “getting past ideology.” The more I thought about it the more I realized how impossible that is. So I wrote out my thoughts here. Thanks for sharing this book. I’ll have to check it out.

    http://principlesnotmen.wordpress.com/2009/10/03/whats-wrong-with-ideology/

  2. Pingback: “Ideology” exists only on the Right, …says the hyper-ideological Left | Two Heads are Better Than One

Leave a Reply

