Why Obama SHOULD lose in November…***

***(…IF we each do our part, of course.)

—–

I have several reasons for today’s headline, so please allow me to explain.

Back in May or June, I was doing my usual web/news surfing when I stumbled on an article in Townhall.com by a guy whose name I didn’t recognize immediately. Turns out he was Wayne Allyn Root, the 2008 Libertarian Vice Presidential nominee. He’s been making headlines of late with his call for Obama to release his college transcripts. The gist of his post was that he believed Obama would lose in November, and he laid out all sorts of reasons. I was busy, so I bookmarked it to read later, …and promptly forgot about it.

Hey, it happens.

Anyway, I was cleaning up my old bookmarks and luckily decided to read his post before I trashed it. His message was simple: Obama had turned off so many of his former voters that, regardless of what the day’s polls might say, he was doomed.

Before you disagree (or agree), let’s look at a few of those former Obama voters from Wayne Allyn Root:

  • Black voters. Obama has nowhere to go but down among this group. His endorsement of gay marriage has alienated many black church-going Christians. He may get 88% of their vote instead of the 96% he got in 2008. This is not good news for Obama.
  • Jewish voters. Obama has been weak in his support of Israel. Many Jewish voters and big donors are angry and disappointed. I predict Obama’s Jewish support drops from 78% in 2008 to the low 60’s. This is not good news for Obama.
  • Youth voters. Obama’s biggest and most enthusiastic believers from 4 years ago have graduated into a job market from hell. Young people are disillusioned, frightened, and broke:  a bad combination. The enthusiasm is long gone. Turnout will be much lower among young voters, as will actual voting percentages. This not good news for Obama.
  • Catholic voters. Obama won a majority of Catholics in 2008. That won’t happen again. Out of desperation to please women, Obama went to war with the Catholic Church over contraception. Now he is being sued by the Catholic Church. Majority lost. This is not good news for Obama.
  • Small Business owners. Because I ran for Vice President last time around, and I’m a small businessman myself, I know literally thousands of small business owners. At least 40% of them in my circle of friends, fans and supporters voted for Obama 4 years ago to “give someone different a chance.” I warned them that he would pursue a war on capitalism and demonize anyone who owned a business…that he’d support unions over the private sector in a big way…that he’d overwhelm the economy with spending and debt. My friends didn’t listen. Four years later, I can’t find one person in my circle of small business owner friends voting for Obama. Not one. This is not good news for Obama.
  • Blue collar working class whites. Do I need to say a thing? White working class voters are about as happy with Obama as Boston Red Sox fans feel about the New York Yankees. This is not good news for Obama. 
  • Military Veterans. McCain won this group by 10 points. Romney is winning by 24 points. The more our military vets got to see of Obama, the more they disliked him. This is not good news for Obama.

Convinced yet? My favorite line from the entire article is the one below, simply because it’s so hard to argue against it:

Will anyone in America wake up on election day saying “I didn’t vote for Obama 4 years ago. But he’s done such a fantastic job, I can’t wait to vote for him today.” 

The more I think about that line, the more sense it makes. Apart from some of the folks in the Hispanic community (due to Obama’s Executive Order from June for a temporary Amnesty for illegals under 30) and others who were impressed that he “evolved” in his support for gay marriage (and yet actually did nothing), ….who else is there? Those two groups don’t begin to outweigh the list from above. So what hope does he have?

Well, he has two hopes, actually: (1) the media (that’s a given), and (2) his decision to run the most ruthless, scorched-earth campaign ever.

Before you chalk that last part up to hyperbole, hear me out. Forget all the hopey-changey stuff: that’s soooo “2008”. Democrat voter enthusiasm is down, WAY way down. Black pastors are grabbing headlines, and it’s not because they agree with our president’s evolved views. Obama is well aware that he could easily lose a straight-up fight this year, so he’s decided to try to depress/turn-off all the voters …except his.

Every four years we’re greeted by both parties telling us something along the lines of, “…THIS year, my opponent will run the most vile, hateful, dishonest campaign that our country has ever seen”. In 2012, the Romney gang might actually be correct when they say it, because this week’s ad from the Obama SuperPAC was as dirty as it gets.

If you have somehow missed this ad previously, you might be rubbing your ears, asking, “Did that guy just blame Mitt Romney for his wife’s death?”

If that is your question, the short answer would be: yep.

The last 48 hours have been filled with stories on just why this was a complete lie and, in fact, may be the worst travesty of a political ad ever (look here, here, and here). However, it’s also apparent that the Obama campaign isn’t embarrassed in the least, which leaves the question: exactly what would embarrass them?

Let me know when you find something, ‘kay?

—–

It’s still August, and there are still millions of folks who aren’t paying attention to anything other than their kids’ summer activity calendars and their own vacation plans. Those folks won’t even begin to focus on the election for several more weeks. I get that.

But deplorable lies like that ad leave a scar, and no amount of ‘positive media spin’ can airbrush it away. I predict it will end up having the exact opposite of its intended effect. Much as in the case of Scott Walker in Wisconsin, the very people whom Obama seeks to depress are actually waiting none-too-patiently for their chance to boot him and his entire administration out of office. What’s worse, they’re intent on bringing as many people as they can with them, almost like a pilgrimage.

We’re only going to get one shot at this; let’s make it count.

13 responses to “Why Obama SHOULD lose in November…***

  1. I just hope that you and Wayne Allyn Root are right. I certainly intend to do my part!

    • I truly believe I am, Kate. It’s not a lay-up by any means; we can’t just sit back and hope.
      BUT: if we are determined to get this right, there is no one other than God Himself who can stop us.

      And regardless of what Obama believes, he ain’t God.

  2. I pray that you are right. I’ve been the Bad News lady for a few years now telling people what OBAMA is doing. Some people I know in my own family said they’re not going to vote. I said YOU CAN’T DO THAT1 Romney’s better than OBAMA. You’re dreams of having it good when you retire will certainly fade away if he gets in again. What is going on with our people.
    My dad talked about communism for years and my sisters don’t see it.
    Makes me sick!

    • Don’t give up, Di. Just a suggestion here: Don’t confront them, directly. Instead, question them.

      Old sales technique: ask the “why” questions and let them vent. If you keep asking “Why?” and “Then what?” long enough, often they will realize the fallacy of their own argument.

      Trying to win minds and hearts here. There were many, many good people who were suckered 4 years ago. I have several friends who’d be included in that category.
      Today, a great number of them have already realized they were duped. For the rest, we have to assist them in realizing that sitting out THIS time will be just as bad as voting for him was the LAST time.

  3. livinrightinpgh

    78% of all Americans describe themselves as “Christians”…yet many, including MANY Catholics and others of various “Christian” sects, decided to vote AGAINST the foundations of their faith and elected a man who OPENLY supports infanticide. (No hyperbole….just check his record, please. He openly supported the killing of a child out of the womb that WASN’T killed by the doctor during the abortion process.)

    You want to know why our Nation is in hyper moral decline? Look to the value we put on human life. You want to know WHY we have seen the decline of the family unit? Look to “Big Daddy Gubmint” and the role they’ve played in creating a welfare state. I could go on, but I want to finish this before the vein in my forehead explodes. (JTR! Get the duct tape!!)

    You want more of the same? Then elect clearly Godless politicians. Oh, please don’t be a dupe and buy into the posed “coming out of a church with the Bible in their hand” photo op. LOOK TO THEIR ACTIONS.

    Christians: STAND UP and don’t be ashamed of who you are, or that it’s “politically incorrect” to proclaim your faith. Quit letting these Godless fools (Biblical reference…”The fool hath said in his heart that there is no God”) dictate the terms and conditions of our actions and conversations.

    You want victory in 2012? Then individually, collectively, at home, in your Church: PRAY for those candidates who stand on Godly principles. I DON’T CARE what tricks THEY try to pull. HE is mightier than all of them put together, with one arm tied behind his back.

    Biblical principles are NOT “old fashioned” or “outdated”….they’re what this Nation, inspired by faith, was founded on.

    Amen, and A-MEN!!!

    • Wow, Pgh: I think I struck a nerve.
      🙂

      No fault in your reasoning, bro, and it ties in directly with my post. Romney isn’t perfect, but he is several orders of magnitude superior than our current prez. This election is ours to win: we simply need to execute. If we are unified, Obama has no chance. It will only be if we allow ourselves to become distracted (and divided) that we can and will lose.

      Just keep in mind my all-time favorite Ben Franklin quote: “We must all hang together, or most assuredly we shall all hang separately.”

  4. “This just in, Mitt Romney alleged to be D. B. Cooper. Democrat officials consider the airline hijacking case closed unless Romney can prove otherwise…”

    • Makes sense to me, Hatfield.

      I also heard that Romney & Bain Capital were responsible for the AIDS epidemic, as well as the San Francisco earthquake in 1906.
      Romney, of course, denied any involvement.

      What is he trying to hide?

  5. livinrightinpgh

    Hatfield….you’re a genius…and THANK YOU for the laugh. I just talked to JTR and was STILL wound up from both my post AND my convo with him!

  6. I heard Romney and Jacky Kennedy were having an illicit affair…he was the real shooter in 1963. I heard this from a guy who heard it from a guy whose sister used to cut the hair of a guy whose mother used to date a guy who used to weed the Kennedy’s garden.

    • Sounds plausible to me, Mr G!! You should probably drop a line to Harry Reid: he’ll be interested.

      FYI: I also heard that Romney’s particular strain of Mormonism instructed him to turn the entire citizenry into Soylent Green.

      I tell ya, ..I’m scared.

Leave a Reply

