‘Credit’ for Deadbeat Nation

It’s no secret that I’m pretty critical of President Obama.

But in the spirit of being fair-minded, I sincerely try to give him kudos for anything he does which is positive. For instance, I certainly commend him for keeping ‘Gitmo‘ open (against his will, of course, but still...), and bombing the heck out of terrorists with our drones overseas, and ….hmmm, actually, that may be it.

Regardless, I still look every day to see if there is some new way, some how, where I can give Obama some credit, and yesterday I FOUND one!!!

Let me tell you about it…

—–

Obama Deadbeat Nation

Like most of us, I was at work when the President spoke on Monday, so I didn’t get a chance to listen to his remarks or even read the transcript until late last night. I needn’t have bothered: I could have guessed at 85% of it in advance. It was deplorable in its entirety: a smug, supercilious man, repeatedly and brazenly lying to his audience (us) as he cast blame & aspersions onto everyone …but himself, of course.

Whiny, arrogant and classless: that’s President Petulant, alright.

I find your lack of class disturbing

Both NiceDeb and Cosmoscon have write-ups with their thoughts of the event, and I urge you to check out both of them. However, there was one part in particular which offended my ear even more than the rest.

Before we get going, please watch this clip. It’s only 3 minutes of the whole gig, but it includes the part I want:

Did you catch all that? First of all there’s this little gem:

“The issue here is whether or not America pays its bills. We are not a deadbeat nation. And so there’s a very simple solution to this: Congress authorizes us to pay our bills…If they want to keep this responsibility, then they need to go ahead and get it done.”

If they want to keep this responsibility“? Excuse me? That sounds like he thinks he has the authority to change that “responsibility”, as if it was a gift from HIM which he’s considering rescinding. **Please note: whenever I label President Obama ‘imperious‘, THIS is the type of behavior to which I’m referring.**

There’s more:

“This is a matter of Congress authorizes spending. They order me to spend. They tell me, you need to fund our Defense Department at such-and-such a level, you need to send out Social Security checks, you need to make sure that you are paying to care for our veterans. They lay all this out for me, and — because they have the spending power.

And so I am required by law to go ahead and pay these bills.

obama-spending-like-a-drunken-sailor

Separately, they also have to authorize a raising of the debt ceiling in order to make sure that those bills are paid. And so what Congress can’t do is tell me to spend X and then say, “But we’re not going to give you the authority to go ahead and pay the bills.”

And I just want to repeat, because I think sometimes the American people understandably aren’t following all — all the debates here in Washington. Raising the debt ceiling does not authorize us to spend more.

All it does is say that America will pay its bills. And we are not a deadbeat nation”.  

Take your pick: pretty much each word in there is offensive. But I was particularly struck by that phrase: we are not a deadbeat nation”. I hate to break it to President Populist, but yeah, we pretty much are right now. 

deadbeat1

What other interpretation could someone possibly have when a country (which is $16 trillion in debt currently), rather than limit their spending to what they actually have to spend…instead simply grants themselves the power to spend even more? When we have more people on Food Stamps, and on SSDI, and Unemployment, and…well, what else would you call it?

If you aren’t paying your own bills…, if you’re sticking the bill to someone else…, by definition you ARE a deadbeat.

‘Deadbeat Nation’ is the PERFECT way to describe us in the Age of Obama. And the truly ironic thing? Obama himself coined the phrase!

—–

See?? CREDIT.

32 responses to “‘Credit’ for Deadbeat Nation

  1. “Deadbeat Nation” an apt phrase from a man who runs the country like a deadbeat dad.

  2. Darn congress!

    Forcing the president to spend all that money…

  3. It’s the almighty Obama living in his own la la land and is FORCED to spend money we don’t have. What a life!

  4. “a smug, supercilious man, repeatedly and brazenly lying to his audience .. casting blame & aspersions onto everyone …but himself” — I give him credit for all of those. He’s also proudly arrogant and narcissistic.. and one of the best at it. That’s about all the credit I can give the man. lol.

  5. I couldn’t listen to the whole speech. It caused nausea and vertigo. Felt like I was in Alice’s Wonderland with the the Queen of Hearts running things and the rest of DC scurrying around, afraid of her nutty passionate pronouncements.
    Come to think of it, I think the whole world is in Wonderland and everyone is mad just like the smoking caterpillar said:
    `How do you know I’m mad?’ said Alice.
    `You must be,’ said the Cat, `or you wouldn’t have come here.’

  6. I mean, the Cheshire Cat.

  7. Hmmm, think any other blogger used the word “supercilious” today?

  8. I love the image the Deadbeat-in-Chief tried to conjure, of himself sitting at his desk personally paying all those piles and piles of bills, because the Congress makes him do it. As if he were a petty clerk in Accounts Payable somewhere. Yup, you made me get angry as usual, JTR. Well done. And I LOVE the word “supercilious”!

    • Yes, I was picturing Obama dressed as Bob Cratchit: hunched over a cramped writing desk, shivering, covered with a shawl and wearing those gloves with the fingers missing, signing check after check after check, tirelessly.

      It’s a good thing I have a strong stomach, because listening to that puffed-up peacock of a President prattle-on could make anyone nauseous….

      **BTW: sorry I got you angry again, Sis.
      I can’t seem to help myself… ;)

  9. livinrightinpgh

    it must be a LOT of fun to write checks for stuff you want out of someone else’s account. JTR! I need your checkbook! Gonna buy some stuff on your dime to gain favor with my peeps!

  10. There is much truth with which to agree in the above post and subsequent discussion. I think the two things that are most amazing about this current situation are as follows:

    1. In 2006, then-Senator Obama voted AGAINST raising the debt ceiling, citing as his reason that such an increase would demonstrate a “failure of leadership…” to get the country on track fiscally speaking. Apparently, however, that was then, and this is now.

    And now, we HAVE to raise the debt ceiling, because otherwise, it sends the message that “…America is a deadbeat nation….that cannot pay its bills.”

    2. The President has said over and over again in the current debt ceiling debate that the Republicans are “…not going to demand a ransom in exchange for not crashing the economy.”

    The Republicans aren’t even trying to demand a ransom!

    The Republican plan, spearheaded by the Speaker of the House John Boehner, calls for $1 of REAL spending cuts OVER 10 YEARS for ever $1 of spending increase NOW. But Obama refuses to listen to them, because that’s not WHAT HE WANTS.

    Who’s holding hostages and demanding ransoms?

    You decide.

  11. Pingback: Alice: “It would be so nice if something made sense for a change.” | tannngl

  12. Yes sir–eee bobcat Willy, about every word is offensive and charged. Oh, and pay close attention to biting his lower lip. (I didn’t count the number of times.)

    Thanks for that clip. Oh ‘If they want to give my that power [I should have] then I’ll GLADLY take it’. We reallllly don’t want to see what the credit card would look like then (picture a slot machine getting 3 lemons and the sirens and whistles going off) “jackpot”. Not for us but for him and his every-growing ego. How offensively arrogant. (Is he steeling the lip thing from Bubba?) You spelled out exactly the correct meaning there.

    • Thanks, brother.
      This guy is as aggravating as any individual I’ve ever seen.

      Used to think no one could nauseate me more than Nancy Pelosi and, while she hasn’t gotten any easier to take….Obama’s voice literally makes my skin crawl.

      It is only out of a sense of duty that I muscle my way through his speeches. ;)

      Which was why his speech today was PARTICULARLY tough to take.

  13. What we do know, Obama, is that we are a sucker nation.

Leave a Reply

